07
Aug
08

A TESTIMONY OF JESUS CHRIST

 

 

    “And I, brethren, when I came to you, came not with excellency of speech or of wisdom, declaring unto you the testimony of God.”  (I Corinthians 2:1)  The important thing to the one who bore this testimony was not how well he spoke or how wise he was, but the focus of his testimony.  In the next verse he tells us what the testimony is:  “For I determined not to know anything among you, save Jesus Christ, and him crucified.”

     The heart and soul of this testimony was Jesus’ crucifixion.  Sometimes it seems morbid to concentrate on a person’s death – especially one that involved so much pain and suffering.  But the one who bore this testimony did that because Jesus’ death was the greatest act of love this world has ever seen.  “But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”  (Romans 5:8)

     Christ died for us.  And because he died for us we can live eternally with Heavenly Father.  His death served as the payment for all our sins.  It completely satisfied God’s anger with us.

     God was indeed angry with us.  He doesn’t take lightly our failures to meet His standards.  Rather he has declared that any and all failure merits our being cast into outer darkness!

     That’s why the cross of Christ is not a morbid sight, but a wonderful one.  There Jesus rescued us from this horrible fate by suffering in our place.  And He is the only one who has done that.  We can’t make ourselves worthy of God’s favor.  Neither can anybody else appease God’s wrath for us.  Only Jesus did that.

     That means that only by trusting in Jesus’ death for us can we escape outer darkness and be considered worthy to live eternally with Heavenly Father.  That is biblical testimony.  That is apostolic testimony.  That is true Christian testimony.

5 Responses to “A TESTIMONY OF JESUS CHRIST”


  1. August 7, 2008 at 1:15 am

    I was bored and just surfing wordpress and came across your blog. I like what you said about how it seems morbid to focus on Jesus’ death. That got me thinking…

    Isn’t it strange that followers of Jesus wear a cross around their necks? I mean a cross was an instrument of death. You don’t see people walking around today wearing a hangman’s rope around their necks or an electric chair, and yet those are also instruments of death.

    The impact of Jesus’ death on the cross for our sin has made the cross a beautiful piece of jewelry, becuase His atrocious death is precious to those who have experienced new life in Him!

    Thanks for your insights,
    Tim Van Arsdale
    Author, You’ve Got Spam! a refreshing collection of e-mails regarding mercy ministry

  2. August 7, 2008 at 3:23 am

    As a Mormon, I’m fine with people who wish to display the cross. I’m also fine with those who don’t.

  3. August 7, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    A testimony of Jesus Christ as our personal Savior is truly a great gift. I have that testimony. I know that Christ suffered and died on the cross for my sins. I also know that He is risen and offers His love and peace to all.

    Matthew 16:15-17
    15 He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am?
    16 And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.
    17 And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Bar-jona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven.

  4. 4 sfb83301
    August 7, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Hi all, One thing we must keep in mind, the LDS word salvation doesn’t not mean the same as the Biblical word salvation which means forgiven from all sin and includes the promise of eternal life with Heavenly Father for eternity…

    Now there is no eternal life outside of believing and trusting in Jesus Christ, the Son of the Living God… as quoted above. But lets look at the original Hebrew, because the LDS and many world religions have the person of Jesus wrong. You can’t answer the way Peter did in the Matthew 16:15-17 unless you understand what he was confessing too. In the Hebrew language when Jesus is referred to as the Son, it is always the word “huios” (which means the supreme heir of all things – the preeminated one), ALWAYS, it is NEVER “ben” which is the Hebrew word for a son of man, like when Isaac is refered to as the son of Abraham (ben Abraham). If fact, this is why the Jewish Rabbis and leaders were so upset when Jesus called himself the Son of God, they understood exactly what he was saying and tried to kill him for it. What Jesus was say, is that he is Immanuel, God with us. A rather amazing subject, but Jesus’ presence is all over in the Old Testament, his name just wasn’t Jesus until Bethlehem when he was “made flesh”.

    In Isaiah 9:6 the prophecy tells us who Jesus is:
    For unto us a child is born (birth), and unto us a son is given (adoption); and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called WONDERFUL, COUNSELLOR, THE MIGHT GOD, THE EVERLASTING FATHER, THE PRINCE OF PEACE.”

    We a humans are born in the flesh too and when Heavenly Father calls us to faith and we take that gift, we are then adopted by him and are made children of God just as Jesus was adopted by Joseph. AMEN!

    We should pray with David this pray (Psalm 39:4-13)
    LORD, make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is: that I may know how frail I am. Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah. Surely every man walketh in a vain shew: surely they are disquieted in vain: he heapeth up riches, and knoweth not who shall gather them. And now, Lord, what wait I for? my hope is in thee. Deliver me from all my transgressions: make me not the reproach of the foolish. I was dumb, I opened not my mouth; because thou didst it. Remove thy stroke away from me: I am consumed by the blow of thine hand. When thou with rebukes dost correct man for iniquity, thou makest his beauty to consume away like a moth: surely every man is vanity. Selah. Hear my prayer, O LORD, and give ear unto my cry; hold not thy peace at my tears: for I am a stranger with thee, and a sojourner, as all my fathers were. O spare me, that I may recover strength, before I go hence, and be no more.

  5. 5 Texas
    August 8, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    I join with the Apostle Paul in saying “But God forbid that I should glory, save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ.” I rejoice that because Jesus died on the cross for me I am free, adopted as His Child into His Forever Family. “But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, [even] to them that believe on his name:” John 1:12


Comments are currently closed.

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 182,226 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers


