09
Jul
09

Christ Our Righteousness

    A Bible passage that has become increasingly precious to me is 1 Corinthians 1:30-31.  “But of him are ye in Christ Jesus, who of God is made unto us wisdom and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption:  That, according as it is written, He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.”  What I especially treasure is its teaching that Jesus has become our righteousness.

     Righteousness is an important biblical word, but one that a lot of people aren’t that familiar with because it is not used that often outside of religious discussions.  I confirmed that by googling it.  Almost all the references that came up placed it in a religious context.  My dictionary defines it as acting according to what is right, being upright.

     That is why I so treasure the above quoted passage.  As the years go by, I am increasingly aware of my failure to always act uprightly, to act righteously.  The battle between flesh and Spirit that Paul describes in Galatians is something I feel regularly.  (“For the flesh lusteth against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary the one to the other: so that ye cannot do the things that ye would.” 5:17). No matter how hard I try to lead a Christ-centered life, I find myself putting self in the center.  No matter how hard I try to always be patient and joyful, I find myself still being impatient and moody.  On and on it goes.

     What a relief – what a joy it is, then, to be told that Jesus has become our righteousness.  Not only did Jesus die in my place, he also lived in my place – as my Substitute.  All his perfect and righteous thoughts, words, and actions are credited to my account.  Not only did he undo what I did, he also did what I didn’t do.  As God now looks at my account, He doesn’t see any debts since they were erased by Jesus’ blood.  Instead all he sees is righteousness – the righteousness of Jesus that has been credited to me.

     No wonder the Bible says, “He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.”  To Jesus, my Savior, my Righteousness, – be all glory!

5 Responses to “Christ Our Righteousness”


  1. 1 gloria
    July 9, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    AMEN!!

    Beautiful post, Mark. To Christ be the glory now and forever more,

    gloria

  2. 2 ADB
    July 10, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Mark,

    What a joy to know that Heavenly Father’s demands of righteousness have been met on our behalf in Christ Jesus and that such righteousness belongs to all who rely on the merits of Christ alone! Paul makes it very clear in his writings that Christ alone is our righteousness. I believe Jesus’ words make it very clear as well (as he claimed that he alone is the way, the truth, and the life).

    I was wondering what you thought of Jesus’ words in John 17:19 – “And for their sakes I sanctify myself, that they also might be sanctified through the truth.” Knowing that the word “sanctify” generally means “to make holy” or “to set apart,” depending on the context, what do you think Jesus is saying here? Is he saying that he has been made holy for our sake? Is he claiming to be our holiness? I take it to mean that he has been set apart as holy so that we would be holy as well.

  3. 3 markcares
    July 13, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    ADB
    John 17:19 is an interesting verse and one that I need to study more in depth. Your interpretation has a lot of merit to it especially because of v. 17: “Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.” There we take “sanctify” in the sense of “make holy”. The natural intepretation would be to keep the same meaning for sanctify two verses later.
    Thanks for drawing attention to that verse.

  4. 4 rblandjr
    September 2, 2009 at 4:15 am

    Mark,

    Really awesome post, that is so simple.Thanks Mark.

    Chris Tomlin put it so well in his song Jesus Messiah.

    “He became sin who knew no sin that we might become his righteousness.
    He humbled himself and carried the cross.
    Love so amazing, Love so amazing.
    Jesus Messiah name above all names.
    Blessed redeemer Emmanuel.
    The rescue for sinners.
    The ransom from heaven. Jesus Messiah Lord of all.

    His body the bread,his blood the wine.
    Broken and poured out all for love.
    The whole earth trembled and the vail was torn.

    Love so Amazing, Love so Amazing.
    Jesus Messiah name above all names.
    Blessed Redeemer Emmanuel.
    The rescue for sinners.
    the ransom from Heaven.
    Jesus Messiah Lord of All.

    All I hope is in you.
    All I hope is in you.
    All the glory to you god.
    The light of the world.

  5. December 15, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    This is a truly marvelous post!!! I can surely relate to you… and what a beautiful word this is!!! Thank you for having the courage to publish this! God bless you! Hope to keep in touch with you… You have such a great heart… very sincere and honest… I appreciate you! God bless you precious child of God! ;)


Comments are currently closed.

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 182,278 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers


