08
Feb
10

SUPER BOWL AND THE SABBATH

 

     Chapter 24 of Gospel Principles, the LDS basic manual, deals with the Sabbath.  Following are a few excerpts.

      “Our prophets have told us that we should not shop, hunt, fish, attend sports events, or participate in similar activities on that day. . .we can keep the Sabbath day holy by attending Church meetings; reading the scriptures and the words of our Church leaders; visiting the sick, the aged, and our loved ones; listening to uplifting music and singing hymns; praying to our Heavenly Father with praise and thanksgiving; performing Church service; preparing family history records and personal histories; telling faith-promoting stories and bearing our testimony to family members and sharing spiritual experiences with them; writing letters to missionaries and loved ones, fasting with a purpose; and sharing time with children and others in the home.”

     This is consistent with other things I have read in other LDS manuals.  That brings me to the question:  how many Mormons watched the Super Bowl yesterday?  If so, is their watching consistent with the advice given by their prophets?  “We should not attend sport events or participate in similar activities” to me appears pretty clear cut. 

     That brings me to my next question.  If watching the Super Bowl is not in keeping with the prophets’ counsel, does watching the Super Bowl on the Sabbath demand repentance?  And isn’t one part of LDS repentance “abandoning the sin”, thus demanding that the repentant person never watch a sporting event again on Sunday?

11 Responses to “SUPER BOWL AND THE SABBATH”


  1. 1 ADB
    February 9, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Thank goodness for the freedom we have in Christ … it was a great game! :)

  2. February 10, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Every year at BYU, there is a raging debate on this topic in “Letters to the Editor” of the Daily Universe (the school newspaper), i.e. whether or not it’s okay to watch the Superbowl since it’s on Sunday. It is a truly epic battle between Good and Evil.

    Also hilariously terribad.

  3. 3 JesusLover
    February 10, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Ms.JackMeyers – IMO the issue is not one of good and evil – the issue is whether or not members of the mormon church follow what their church tell them to do – because they believe it comes from God – and if they disobey this – they are disobeying God. In the mormon belief system they could perhaps watch the superbowl on Sunday once but never again because they wouldn’t be forgiven for the same sin twice.
    You did not answer what Mark wrote…I would really like to hear what YOUR opinion is on this matter.
    Too…this is 2010 – why are you using your husband’s name of Jack and not your own?

  4. February 10, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Praise God for our liberty in Christ!

  5. 5 RLO
    February 10, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    “Too…this is 2010 – why are you using your husband’s name of Jack and not your own?”

    Maybe I’m missing something here, but I’m uncertain what you were hoping to add to the discussion at hand with this question. As I see it,

    I have chosen to use my initials RLO, rather than my name.
    You have chosen to use “JesusLover, rather than your name.
    She has chosen to use Ms. Jack Meyers, rather than her name.

  6. February 11, 2010 at 5:25 am

    #3 JesusLover ~ You did not answer what Mark wrote…I would really like to hear what YOUR opinion is on this matter.

    I didn’t “answer” what Mark wrote because his post wasn’t directed at evangelical Christians, which is what I am.

    If you really want to know, my opinion on the matter is that fellowship is a perfectly valid Sunday activity for Christians and Superbowl parties are justifiable if that is their goal. When I was a student at BYU, I would regularly attend an annual Superbowl party hosted by Christ Evangelical in Orem where we would turn off the half-time show and listen to a speaker give a testimony (usually an evangelical Christian who was a former BYU athlete). Which means we tragically missed out on Janet Jackson’s boob.

    I think Mormons who discourage people from watching the Superbowl are being pharisaically legalistic.

    Too…this is 2010 – why are you using your husband’s name of Jack and not your own?

    My legal name is Bridget Jack Meyers. Lots of men and women go by their middle names, such as Thomas Sean Connery and Olive Marie Osmond.

    I’m not even sure how you concluded that I was married given that you seem to know very little about me and “Ms.” does not denote marital status. 2010 indeed.

  7. February 11, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    Oh, this one is easy to get around. If I were LDS, my excuse would be, “I’m visiting the aged. My Dad just happened to be watching the game.” ;-)

  8. 8 Echo
    February 12, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Our freedom in Christ is a very good thing!

  9. 9 Echo
    February 14, 2010 at 4:54 am

    In the index of the BOM under “Apostasy” is says this: “D & C 1:15 Those who reject prophets have strayed from ordinances, broken everlasting covenant”

    Therefore, when an LDS person does not do what they are told to do, or does not refrain from doing what they are told to refrain from doing, they are apostates. The LDS teaches that apostates go to outer darkness.

  10. February 15, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Therefore, when an LDS person does not do what they are told to do, or does not refrain from doing what they are told to refrain from doing, they are apostates. The LDS teaches that apostates go to outer darkness.

    Echo, that’s the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever heard.

    You won’t hear me defending Mormon legalism any time soon, but PLEASE. There’s plenty to attack without making stuff up.

    That is all.

  11. 11 Echo
    February 16, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    Maybe your right and I am wrong. I could be assuming more here than I should. Thanks for the head’s up.


Comments are currently closed.

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 182,278 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers


