20
Jan
11

Christ Our Righteousness

     A Bible passage that has become increasingly precious to me is 1 Corinthians 1:30-31.  “But of him are ye in Christ Jesus, who of God is made unto us wisdom and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption:  That, according as it is written, He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.”  What I especially treasure is its teaching that Jesus has become our righteousness.

     Righteousness is an important biblical word, but one that a lot of people aren’t that familiar with because it is not used that often outside of religious discussions.  I confirmed that by googling it.  Almost all the references that came up placed it in a religious context.  My dictionary defines it as acting according to what is right, being upright.

     That is why I so treasure the above quoted passage.  As the years go by, I am increasingly aware of my failure to always act uprightly, to act righteously.  The battle between flesh and Spirit that Paul describes in Galatians is something I feel regularly.  (“For the flesh lusteth against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary the one to the other: so that ye cannot do the things that ye would.” 5:17). No matter how hard I try to lead a Christ-centered life, I find myself putting self in the center.  No matter how hard I try to always be patient and joyful, I find myself still being impatient and moody.  On and on it goes.

     What a relief – what a joy it is, then, to be told that Jesus has become our righteousness.  Not only did Jesus die in my place, he also lived in my place – as my Substitute.  All his perfect and righteous thoughts, words, and actions are credited to my account.  Not only did he undo what I did, he also did what I didn’t do.  As God now looks at my account, He doesn’t see any debts since they were erased by Jesus’ blood.  Instead all he sees is righteousness – the righteousness of Jesus that has been credited to me.

     No wonder the Bible says, “He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.”  To Jesus, my Savior, my Righteousness, – be all glory!

3 Responses to “Christ Our Righteousness”


  1. 1 Echo
    January 20, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Romans 4:6 ” just as David also describes the blessedness of the man to whom God imputes righteousness apart from works”

    Impute means “to credit to”

  2. 2 jbr
    January 21, 2011 at 1:19 am

    Heaven is obtainable one of two ways:

    Being declared righteous by God
    or
    becoming righteous by our own effort.

    It’s a either or scenerio…. not a combined mixture.

    The righteousness is ours now by decree.

  3. 3 Martha
    January 23, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    I praise the Lord for redeeming me with His righteousness. I praise Him for picking me up when I have fallen and shepherding me around in His fold. I am so thankful that I don’t have to be under the burden of MY righteousness or the Law that says it’s after all that I do. Jesus Christ already did it and I glory in the Lord and His righteousness.


Comments are currently closed.

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 182,191 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers


