24
May
13

JESUS MY CREDITOR?

One of Mormonism’s basic manuals is a book entitled “Gospel Principles”.  Starting on p. 75 it quotes a parable given by Elder Boyd K . Packer, an LDS apostle.   It’s quite lengthy so I will summarize much of it here.  Heavenly Father is the creditor.  We are the debtors.  After awhile we realize that we can’t pay back the debt. After a discussion about justice and mercy, Jesus, the mediator, steps in. He asks the creditor if he will free the debtor from the contract, if he, the mediator, pays the entire debt. The creditor agrees. Let me pick it up there by quoting a few sentences:

“The mediator turned then to the debtor. ‘If I pay your debt, will you accept me as your creditor?’

“‘Oh yes, yes,’ cried the debtor. ‘You saved me from prison and show mercy to me.’

“‘Then’ said the benefactor, ‘you will pay the debt to me and I will set the terms. It will not be easy, but it will be posssible. I will provide a way. You need not go to prison.’”

For many Christians, this illustrates quite sharply the difference between the teachings of Mormonism and biblical Christianity.  Many Christians are genuinely horrified to hear Jesus being described as a creditor.  This goes against every grain of their being.

This horror on the part of Christians is mystifying to many Mormons.  They don’t see the problem.  They wonder what the big deal is.  To them seeing Jesus as their creditor is no big deal – it’s even natural.

For me, not only the parable itself, but then also the two differing and drastic reactions to it clearly illustrate the differences between Mormonism and Christianity.  The parable illustrates the different teaching; the differing reactions illustrate the different mindsets. As Christians talk with their Mormon friends, they need to not only remember that many times words will be defined differently between the two, but also that their mindsets will be different from that of their LDS friends.

As for me, I am so thankful that Jesus doesn’t ask me if I will accept him as my creditor.  No, he is my Savior who has paid my debt fully and buried all my sins in the depths of the sea.

4 Responses to “JESUS MY CREDITOR?”


  1. 1 Robert Timmerman
    May 24, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    It is either free or it doesn’t exist. Thanks for your clear explanation Pastor Cares.

  2. May 28, 2013 at 12:31 am

    Thank you Mark,

    Knowing that the debt is paid in full is part of the peace that surpasses all understanding, we are truly free!

  3. May 30, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    Mark,

    I thought of some scripture that helps illustrate your points, understanding that our debt against God is so much greater than we could ever possibly every repay, and how the proper response of forgiveness of that debt is a heart of gratitude and one that is eager to forgive.” Old testament law illustrated grace and forgiveness of sins and cancellation of debt through sacrifices as well as other built in periods of releasing of debt. The old testament law points towards Jesus Christ as the final sacrifice for sin and the payment of that debt against God.

    We have true freedom and this is why Christians are so vehemently against any teachings to the contrary. We have been set free in Christ and we would never want to be put under bondage of the Law again, or a structured “debt repayment plan” we cannot repay the debt for it has been already been settled, ah…. deep breath, thank you Lord!

    Matthew 18:21-35
    English Standard Version (ESV)
    The Parable of the Unforgiving Servant

    21 Then Peter came up and said to him, “Lord, how often will my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? As many as seven times?” 22 Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you seven times, but seventy-seven times.

    23 “Therefore the kingdom of heaven may be compared to a king who wished to settle accounts with his servants.[a] 24 When he began to settle, one was brought to him who owed him ten thousand talents.[b] 25 And since he could not pay, his master ordered him to be sold, with his wife and children and all that he had, and payment to be made. 26 So the servant[c] fell on his knees, imploring him, ‘Have patience with me, and I will pay you everything.’ 27 And out of pity for him, the master of that servant released him and forgave him the debt. 28 But when that same servant went out, he found one of his fellow servants who owed him a hundred denarii,[d] and seizing him, he began to choke him, saying, ‘Pay what you owe.’ 29 So his fellow servant fell down and pleaded with him, ‘Have patience with me, and I will pay you.’ 30 He refused and went and put him in prison until he should pay the debt. 31 When his fellow servants saw what had taken place, they were greatly distressed, and they went and reported to their master all that had taken place. 32 Then his master summoned him and said to him, ‘You wicked servant! I forgave you all that debt because you pleaded with me. 33 And should not you have had mercy on your fellow servant, as I had mercy on you?’ 34 And in anger his master delivered him to the jailers,[e] until he should pay all his debt. 35 So also my heavenly Father will do to every one of you, if you do not forgive your brother from your heart.”

  4. June 1, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    Jeff:
    Thanks for pointing to that parable. The one thing that so many people forget as they read that parable is that the king freely forgive the servant before he had done anything. Forgiveness first. Then the servant’s lack of gratitude, as shown in his unforgiving actions, brings to light his lack of faith. The other thing that this parable illustrates is that once we are brought to faith, we are new creations. We now have a wonderful new motive to serve the Lord.
    Thanks again for your comments.


Comments are currently closed.

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 182,191 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers


