22
Jul
13

Who talks about Jesus more?

Mormons often point to the fact that Jesus Christ is part of their church’s name as proof that they are Christians.  But what struck me again last month as I was going door to door in Salt Lake City and talking with many LDS members is how much they didn’t want to talk about Jesus.  We came to the door with the message of the great things Jesus has done for us; namely, that we were assured that we were worthy in God’s sight because of what he has done and that we knew we were forgiven through him.  Almost invariably the person at the door would respond by saying that a person had a responsibility to obey the commandments and do good works.  We wanted to talk about what Jesus had done and they wanted to talk about what they had to do.

I have only attended a few sacrament meetings, but I have noticed the same thing there.  In all the meetings I attended there was much more talk about what they had to do than what Jesus did for them.  All my friends who at one time were LDS verify that.  To a person they say that in their individual wards the emphasis was always on what they had to do.

I see the same thing in the LDS manuals.  For example, Jesus’ atonement is frequently mentioned but hardly ever emphasized.  Most often it is used as a launching pad to lay out in great detail what works people need to add to the Atonement.

The bottom line is that it’s not just what is in a church’s name.  It’s what a church teaches.  It’s what a church emphasizes.  And every contact I have with Mormonism, whether it is talking with its members or reading its manuals or attending its services, demonstrates that it puts the spotlight not on the great things Jesus has done for us but on the things people have to do.

I am so thankful that the Lord has said that I can be assured that I am worthy and forgiven right now because of Jesus.  I am so thankful that the Lord has reassured me that I will be living with him for all eternity because Jesus has already done everything necessary for me to enter his presence.  This free gift of worthiness and forgiveness now impels me all the more to do all I can to glorify him in my life and with my lips.  To him be all praise and glory.

6 Responses to “Who talks about Jesus more?”


  1. 1 Robert Timmerman
    July 22, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    It is either what Jesus did or what we do. Can’t be both. Blessings always in the peace of full and free forgiveness .

  2. 2 Edy Meredith
    July 22, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    Ii agree with you Mark. I went to a mormon service once on Christmas and the only mention of Jesus was at the end of the closing prayer (In the name of Jesus, Amen.) Even though I was raised as a mormon, I was shocked at the blatant disregard of Jesus, our Lord.

  3. July 22, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    Maybe that is why LDS members don’t want to talk about Jesus. They don’t hear much about Jesus. Sad. Jesus brings so much love and joy.

  4. July 30, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    Mark,

    Can you say caricature?

    Do you think you might just be seeing confounding variables as you knock on peoples’ doors? Could there be any other reason they don’t want to talk to you? Do you really think it is purely a disinterest in talking about Jesus? I can imagine many people not wanting to engage with a critic of their church or somebody trying to share something those you encounter feel they already have. I talk to everybody who knocks on my door. But I understand why people may not want to take the time.

    I think you are conflating two things- a person’s interest in Christ and a person’s disinterest in talking to people knocking on doors. They are not one and the same.

    Thanks.

  5. 5 markcares
    July 31, 2013 at 12:05 am

    Hi Latterdaytruth:
    No I don’t think I conflated two things. i have knocked on thousands and thousands of doors over many years and I can tell when a person is not interested in talking to someone knocking on their doors. We met people like that also in SLC. And we respectfully left without getting into a conversation. In my post I was referring to people who engaged us in conversation. In fact, in more than one case they approached me first to talk.

  6. 6 JRSG
    July 31, 2013 at 10:52 pm

    A lot of what you say in your post, in my opinion, is cultural. It is not done on purpose. There are pro LDS sites who are trying to make people aware of the engrained culture that is causing some minor problems. Every religion/church has culture whether you want to admit it or not. What is taught according to the manuals is expounded on when in the classroom. So to say the manuals say this or that, you are not taking into account that the teacher expounds on the materials and adds to it. Every time the Atonement is taught it is emphasized. Christ is very much in focus in the classrooms. You have to remember that the LDS do not shout “Jesus” in their worship services like some do in other churches. That does not mean we do not talk of Christ or learn about Him or do not worship Him. I have learned more about Christ in the LDS religion than in any other religion I attended. I went to a service and all the Preacher did was recite Bible verses (yelling and acting out each verse and changing his voice) and everybody yelled “Amen” and “Jesus”. and stomping their feet and jumping and shouting. How is that learning about Christ or teaching about Christ? It is not.


Comments are currently closed.

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 182,191 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 998 other followers


